Sky Garden, A much needed Crown Heights oasis.

Native grass out of plastic water bottle.
Native grass out of plastic water bottle.

The roof on my 8 family 4-story Pre-War Apartment in Crown Heights has been a place to garden, eat and chill for the last couple years. We  used to garden in the huge, un-used backyard space but found that it’s north facing position with some big trees didn’t allow enough light to grow food ( it also was a mosquito breeding ground as well as had rabid ghosts from the dog fighting they used to do back there in the late 1980’s). So, I took the garden sky bound a couple years back. One flight up, its been a a great source of pleasure in a myriad of ways. A little green space in the concrete jungle goes a long way.

My favorite group planting.
My favorite group planting.

This succulent is pretty much the only guy to wether the weather, coming back on its own after a long, cruel winter.  Flowering and going strong.
This succulent is pretty much the only guy to wether the weather, coming back on its own after a long, cruel winter. Flowering and going strong.
Beautiful flowering succulent planted in one of the Park Slope Food Co-op Olive oil cartons.
Beautiful flowering succulent planted in one of the Park Slope Food Co-op Olive oil cartons.
Made this table out of a 100 year old door I garbage picked from right outside my building.  Garbage picked IKEA table stands in a bit tonier neighborhood. Sealed it to prevent it from splitting and molding up.
Made this table out of a 100 year old door I garbage picked from right outside my building. Garbage picked IKEA table stands in a bit tonier neighborhood. Sealed it to prevent it from splitting and molding up.
New tomato flowers against the roof tar paper.
New tomato flowers against the roof tar paper.
Heirloom popping up.
Heirloom popping up.
Squirels have been a constant battle up on the roof.  They ate one of my strawberries the other day.  Unfortunately I had to do this to keep the rodent bastards out of my star tomato plant.
Squirels have been a constant battle up on the roof. They ate one of my strawberries the other day. Unfortunately I had to do this to keep the rodent bastards out of my star tomato plant.
Lots of dudes popping off.
Lots of dudes popping off.
Scored this crazy WWII water ration can from the basement of a local middle school.  It has Lamb Ear and a flowering perrineal.  Off to the right is an Azalea in a garbage picked planter.
Scored this crazy WWII water ration can from the basement of a local middle school. It has Lamb Ear and a flowering perrineal. Off to the right is an Azalea in a garbage picked planter.
The butterfly bush just popped the other day after I brought it back from a semi-dead state.  Scored it cheap from Home Depot. As I was shooting the first butterfly made an appearance.
The butterfly bush just popped the other day after I brought back a semi dead one from Home Depot with a good trimming. As I was shooting the first butterfly made an appearance.
Old beauty shop hair dryer is a garden star.
Old beauty shop hair dryer is a garden star.
Insects eating together.
Insects eating together.
This hosta lived thru the winter and its friend Clover naturally coupled up so I left them to have a nice cozy summer together.
This hosta lived thru the winter and its friend Clover naturally coupled up so I left them to have a nice cozy summer together.
South facing tomato.
South facing tomato.
A 55 gallon drum is my watering source. I fill it up from my kitchen sink with a hose from one flight down through the window.
A 55 gallon drum is my watering source. I fill it up from my kitchen sink with a hose from one flight down through the window.
Butterfly bush is working.
Butterfly bush is working.
Mr. Fatty.
Mr. Fatty.
Some scrappy little planters.
Some scrappy little planters.
Croton Petra.
Croton Petra.
Mint and a Hosta getting along.
Mint and a Hosta getting along.
This little guy broke off when I was trying to get it to work with-in the tomato ring.  He made for a nice, little inside display.
This little guy broke off when I was trying to get it to work with-in the tomato ring. He made for a nice, little inside display.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sven Gustafson says:

    Nice, dude. Love to hang with you up there some time.

    You have any way to harvest rain water in that barrel? Like maybe erect a small roof over it using some corrugated metal and a downspout?

    1. jkristal says:

      thats an interesting idea.

Leave a Reply

