Haitian Day parade in my hood…

A couple of weeks ago was Haitian day here in NYC and a sparsely attended parade and street party was just down the street from my apartment.  I wasn’t aware (somewhat naively I suppose) that just around the corner from me on Nostrand ave. in Brooklyn,  a 1/4 mi. away,  I would not be able to communicate with 65% of my neighbors as French is the first language. The recent tragedy was referenced at the affair and felt to be sure but it didn’t seem to dampen the communities spirit as the energy was high, especially for the participants entranced by Ra-Ra music , a repetitive, chanting music with drums and handmade horns which made its way down the parade and with whom I was lucky enough to be enthroned amongst..walking backwards for a half mile.   



Leave a Reply

